Skip to main content

Social Issues & Argumentative Essays: Finding Magazine and Journal Articles

This LibGuide contains a variety of resources to help you locate background information on a variety of social issues and controversies.

Library Research Databases to Consider for Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary periodical database that collects articles from a wide variety of disciplines.

The CQ Researcher is like an encyclopedia of social issues and controversies. It presents both the pros and cons of hundreds of issues.

EBSCO Discovery Service is a multi-disciplinary database that allows you to search nearly all of the library databases simultaneously.

The Global Issues in Context library database collects a wide variety of resources that are linked to hundreds of global topics.

The Opposing Viewpoints in Context library database collects a wide variety of resources that are linked to hundreds of U.S. domestic topics.

Points of View Reference Center collects a wide variety of resources reflecting a variety of viewpoints, that are linked to hundreds of topics.

 

Find a Magazine or Journal Title Online with the Full Text Finder Database

Need Citation Help? Visit the Library's Citation Help webpage

Tips for Locating Articles About Social Issues

When searching for articles by a topic, a phrase or a person's name use quotation marks. Quotation marks will help you to search more effectively by locating an exact match of that searched topic, phrase or person's name in the library database.

For example:

"organic food"

"United States"

Additional search boxes can be used to add additional search terms as needed.

In many of the databases search filters can help you to limit your search by format type. This includes peer reviewed journal articles, magazine, newspaper articles and multi-media.

A timeline if often available as a filter to help you to limit your search by publication date.

 

 

Need Help with Your Writing? Visit the Schoolcraft College Writing Support Studio

Ask a Librarian

Wayne Pricer's picture
Wayne Pricer
Contact:
734-462-5317