Skip to main content

Social Issues & Argumentative Essays: CQ Researcher

This LibGuide contains a variety of resources to help you locate background information on a variety of social issues and controversies.

Introduction to the CQ Researcher Library Database

The CQ Researcher library database is like an encyclopedia of social issues and controversies. It presents both the pros and cons of hundreds of issues. Use it to obtain background information on hundreds of topics.

To use the CQ Researcher database select a general category the category will then expand into many different related sub-categories of the topic you have selected. Clicking on to a topic of interest to you will take you to a detailed background report on that topic. Each report contains the following sections: an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook, pros and con debate section, chronology, maps/graphs, bibliography, next step (related websites), places to contact for further info and footnotes.

Consult the Guide on the Side Schoolcraft College Library Tutorial

More Tips for Searching the CQ Researcher Library Database

When searching for articles by a topic, a phrase or a person's name use quotation marks. Quotation marks will help you to search more effectively by locating an exact match of that searched topic, phrase or person's name in the library database.

For example:

"organic food"

"United States"

Additional search boxes can be used to add additional search terms as needed.

In many of the databases search filters can help you to limit your search by format type. This includes peer reviewed journal articles, magazine, newspaper articles and multi-media.

A timeline if often available as a filter to help you to limit your search by publication date.

Ask a Librarian

Wayne Pricer's picture
Wayne Pricer
Contact:
734-462-5317