LibGuides: American History: American History Resources

Exploring American History Resources

The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore American History resources.

On this page you will find:

A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
Links to pages full of useful websites related to various American History topics.
Links to a preset database search for American History eBooks.

These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.

When you are not on campus and try to use the databases, you will be prompted for a username and password. If you do not know these and are a Schoolcraft student, then give the library a call and we will provide you with the information you need.

Our phone number is: (734) 462-4440

Additional Open Access U.S. History eBook Links to Consider

Favorite Web Resources

3D Artifacts Collection (Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum)
Browse more than 100 3D items from their collections.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (from ProQuest)
A collection of primary sources. It includes more than 3,000 documents curated around six crucial phases of the U.S. Black freedom struggle.
By the People
Invites you to transcribe, review, and tag digitized images of manuscripts and typed materials from the Library’s collections.
Chronicling America Collection of Historic Newspapers, About the Collection
Chronicling America contains millions of newspaper pages from nearly every state and territory in the United States published through 1963.
Chronicling America Collection of Historic Newspapers, Interactive Map
This map shows approximate locations of digitized newspapers available in the Chronicling America Collection of Historic Newspapers from the Library of Congress.
Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal (CMU)
Access digitized versions of Michigan newspapers made available from a variety of sources.
DocsTeach, Primary Source Collections by Themed Topic
A themed collection of primary sources from the U.S. National Archives. Browse the collection by theme.
Documenting the American South
Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
Founders Online
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 183,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
The Henry Ford, Digital Collections
Explore this collection of more than 100,000 digital artifacts.
Historical Primary Source Materials LibGuide
Explore these resources to learn about primary sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
This edition includes more than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970
History Maps Project, Learn History Visually
Explore historical eras by time period visually through this collection of maps.
History webliography
Explore these free web resources to learn about history.
Index of Library of Congress Research Guides
Research guides to the Library's general collections of books and periodicals, as well as general subject guides prepared by Library of Congress reference librarians.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
View historic maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Michigan Local Town Histories eBook Collection (Read Michigan)
Learn all about the town you live in with this collection of local histories, compiled by local historians, museums, historical societies, and more, published by Arcadia Publishing. This collection features general history, true crime, architecture and landscape, travel and the food scene – just to name a few!
Newspaper Navigator
Search 1.56 million historic newspaper photos using the Newspaper Navigator.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 873,455 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
NPGallery Search
Explore the digital multimedia collections from the National Park Service.
Presidential Library Explorer (National Archives)
Explore the online holdings of U.S. Presidential Libraries.
Prices and Wages by Decade: Introduction (LibGuide, Univ. of Missouri)
This guide points to wages and consumer prices reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s.
Read Michigan (Collection of 600+ eBooks)
In partnership with the Library of Michigan, university presses from the University of Michigan, Michigan State University and Wayne State University, have launched a unique collection of regional e-books available to all residents of Michigan.
Read Michigan, Browse by Category (Collection of 600+ eBooks)
Rotunda Founders Early Access Project
Makes available for the first time thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.
Smithsonian
Online resources from the world's largest museum and research complex.
Smithsonian 3D Collections
Browse more than 3,000 3D items from the Smithsonian's Collections.
Smithsonian Audio Translations
The Smithsonian holds over 150,000 audio recordings - in various formats, and dating from the late 19th century to the present - in its many museums, archives, and libraries. Transcription of these collections will increase accessibility, unlock hidden content, and preserve historical audio assets for future generations.
Smithsonian Online Books, Browse by Topic
Browse by subject this collection of free eBooks from the Smithsonian.
Smithsonian Open Access Collection
Explore more than 4.9 million digital objects in the collection.
Smithsonian Transcription Center
Become a Smithsonian Digital Volunteer and help us make historical documents and biodiversity data more accessible. Join 87,653 "volunpeers" to add more to the total 1,355,367 pages of field notes, diaries, ledgers, logbooks, currency proof sheets, photo albums, manuscripts, biodiversity specimens labels that have been collaboratively transcribed and reviewed since June 2013.

Off Campus Library Database Access

Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard by clicking the “Organizations” tab. Go to https://bb.schoolcraft.edu