Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring Geology Resources
The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore Geology resources.
On this page you will find:
- A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
- Links to pages full of useful websites related to various Geology topics.
- Links to a preset database search for Geology eBooks.
These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.
When you are not on campus and try to use the databases, you will be prompted for a username and password. If you do not know these and are a Schoolcraft student, then give the library a call and we will provide you with the information you need.
Our phone number is: (734) 462-4440
Favorite Online Resources
Earth science topics including water, space, and nature
One of the internet’s leading websites for earth science news and information.
World's largest public database of mineral information with an army of worldwide volunteers adding and verifying new information daily.
A Glossary of Mining Terms
Provides access to the global geoscience data needed to address many societal issues including mitigation of hazards, meeting resource requirements, and climate change.
Website devoted to a detailed consideration of the history of life on Earth.
Resource for anyone interested in paleontology, from professionals in the lab to amateurs scouting for fossils to students in any classroom.
US Geological Survey
A science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment.
Off Campus Library Database Access
Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard.
1. Log into Blackboard at https://bb.schoolcraft.edu
2. Scroll down to My Organizations
3. You will see Organizations where you are: Participant
5. This page will list the usernames/passwords and links to databases.