Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring SRT Resources
The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore Sound Recording Technology resources.
On this page you will find:
- A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
- Links to homepages for professional organizations related to sound recording technology.
- Links to a preset database search for sound recording technology eBooks.
These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.
Favorite Online Resources
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project at the UCSB
This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.
UCSC Electronic Music Studio Technical Essays
This web site contains a collection of essays and technical articles about the art and practice of electronic music written by Professor Peter Elsea over the last 20 years.
American Memory Sound Recording Collections
Links to sound recording collections contained in the Library of Congress American Memory Historical Collections.
Oxford Music Online
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Sound on Sound
"Sound On Sound is recognised internationally as the 'bible' of the music recording industry. This web site houses our continually-expanding archive of highly informative articles that chart the impact of technology on the music production and recording processes."--From the website
Off Campus Library Database Access
Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard by clicking the “Organizations” tab. Go to https://bb.schoolcraft.edu
SRT Professional Organizations Links