Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: SOC 205 Social Problems

Introduction to Sociology Research

This guide is designed to help students find, explore, and use Sociology related materials for their projects, papers, and research in this course. Use the tabs below to navigate to each section of research materials.

Schoolcraft students can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard.

1. Log into Blackboard at https://bb.schoolcraft.edu

2.  Scroll down to  My Organizations 

3.  You will see Organizations where you are: Participant

4.  Click on the link:      SC.Library.Resources

5. This page will list the usernames/passwords and links to databases.

If you have any questions or get stuck, please contact a reference librarian at Bradner Library via phone (734-462-4440 ext. 5316) or email (library@schoolcraft.edu).

Online Resources to Consider

In an attempt to promote greater understanding of classical macro-social theory, particularly its implications for social criticism and prediction, this site focuses on nine classical social theorists from T. Robert Malthus to W. E. B. Dubois.

Library Databases for Journal Articles

This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. 

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

JSTOR is turning on access to all collections through June 30, 2022. Full text of scholarly journals in many subjects, especially the humanities and social sciences. Generally does not include recent issues. Post June 30, 2022 access will be to Arts & Sciences collections I-VIII, X, XII, XV, Life Science, Lives of Literature, Religion & Theology, and Sustainability.

 

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Domestic newspapers and news sources

Today's issue of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal is available in the library.
The Library also keeps the paper copy for two months.

Lansing State Journal

Michigan Digital Newspaper Portal

Links provide access to either digitized versions of newspapers or links to digitized newspapers made available from a variety of sources.  Among these links are papers held by the Clarke Historical Library and also Michigan newspapers found in Chronicling America, a database maintained by the Library of Congress.

Oakland Press

National Public Radio

Listen to or read news stories.

 

World news sources

Aljazeera English, a global news network.

The latest BBC World News: international news, features and analysis.

Thousands of world newspapers.

World newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English, sorted by country and region.