Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring Metallurgy and Materials Science Resources
The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore metallurgy and materials science resources.
On this page you will find:
- A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
- Links to homepages for professional organizations related to metallurgy and materials science.
- Links to a preset database search for metallurgy and materials science eBooks.
These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.
Favorite Online Resources
National Science Digital Library: Metallurgy
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.
Materials Education National Resource Center (NSF)
The Resource Center provides curriculum resources for materials technology program enhancement and improvement at community and technical colleges nationwide.
Crystallography Open Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
NIST Materials Science Portal
Details current materials science projects being undertaken by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
MatSci Excelets: Interactive Excel Spreadsheets for Materials Science
The MatSci Excelets collection  of over thirty dynamic and interactive spreadsheets offers instructors in introductory materials science or other courses such as general chemistry or physics, a way to create an engaging pedagogy in the classroom, whether for lecture, laboratory, or out-of-class assignments.
Off Campus Library Database Access
Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard by clicking the “Organizations” tab. Go to https://bb.schoolcraft.edu
Metallurgy and Materials Science Professional Organizations Links
Metallurgy and Materials Science eBooks