Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newer Fire Technology Books @ Schoolcraft
Granite Mountain by
Call Number: SD 421.32 .A6 M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Brendan McDonough was on the verge of becoming a hopeless, inveterate heroin addict when he, for the sake of his young daughter, decided to turn his life around. He enlisted in the Granite Mountain Hotshots, a team of elite firefighters based in Prescott, Arizona. Their leader, Eric Marsh, was in a desperate crunch after four hotshots left the unit, and perhaps seeing a glimmer of promise in the skinny would-be recruit, he took a chance on the unlikely McDonough, and the chance paid off. Despite the crew's skepticism, and thanks in large part to Marsh's firm but loving encouragement, McDonough unlocked a latent drive and dedication, going on to successfully battle a number of blazes and eventually win the confidence of the men he came to call his brothers.
Then, on June 30, 2013, while McDonough--"Donut" as he'd been dubbed by his team--served as lookout, they confronted a freak, 3,000-degree inferno in nearby Yarnell, Arizona. The relentless firestorm ultimately trapped his hotshot brothers, tragically killing all 19 of them within minutes. Nationwide, it was the greatest loss of firefighter lives since the 9/11 attacks.
Firefighter Preplan by
Call Number: TH 9120 .S643 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Firefighter Preplan is the ultimate guidebook for thriving as a firefighter. In this book, you will discover the secrets of great firefighters that have never been shared in a book before. You will be given the strategies and tactics of great and respected firefighters and a plan for how you can become one too. Specifics you will learn: -17 strategies of great and respected firefighters -10 tactics used by great and respected firefighters -How to build a respected reputation among firefighters -The 4 respect-killers for firefighters -The top 3 most-hated firefighter behaviors -The 3 destructive C's in the fire service -The Firefighter Motto of successful firefighters -How to be like the fire -Firefighter Preplan implementation steps -The Firefighter Training Success Diamond -Action steps for each strategy and tactic -How to deal with the career and life storms of a fire service career -And much more! Firefighter Preplan provides the opportunity to learn from the best of the best.
Firefighter Functional Fitness by
Call Number: RC 965 .F48 K47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Firefighter Functional Fitness is the essential guide to optimal firefighter performance and longevity. It provides all firefighters with the knowledge, mindset, and tools to: -Maximize their fire ground performance -Reduce their risk of injury and experiencing a line-of-duty death -Live a long, healthy career and retirement Designed for firefighters by firefighters, this book shares The 4 Pillars of Firefighter Functional Fitness: 1 - Physical Fitness 2 - Recovery and Rest 3 - Hydration 4 - Nutrition and Lifestyle It also reveals The Big 8 concept, which includes over 100 photos and descriptions of functional exercises, movements, and stretches that are specifically designed to enhance firefighter performance.
The Workout Programming chapter gives firefighters numerous options for putting The Big 8 into action, taking into account all levels of fitness. Additionally, each chapter provides practical action steps for both immediate improvement and long-term success.
Must-read bonus chapters include: -The Importance of Annual Medical Evaluations -An Analysis of the Fire Service’s Cardiovascular Epidemic -Firefighter Physical Agility Assessments -Addressing Organizational Barriers to Fitness -Frequently Asked Questions Alarmingly, over the past 10 years, the fire service has suffered more than 1,000 line-of-duty deaths. Unfortunately, over 50% of these LODDs were attributed to heart attacks, strokes, and other medical causes. Firefighter Functional Fitness attacks these statistics by providing all firefighters with the tools needed to combat this epidemic. Firefighter Functional Fitness brings together the authors’ combined 40+ years of fire service experience and decades of utilizing functional fitness principles. The result is an invaluable resource with the vital tools and knowledge that firefighters desperately need to not only enjoy a healthy and productive career but also benefit with a healthy retirement.
McGraw-Hill Education Firefighter Exam, 2nd Edition by
Call Number: TH 9157 .S63 2015
Publication Date: 2015
McGraw-Hill Education: Firefighter Exams offers 7 full-length sample exams (two more exams than previous edition), plus valuable instruction and practice in all the most common question types--all designed to reflect today's new firefighter responsibilities as emergency first responders, as well as current fire department recruiting diversity standards.
New chapters on cognitive abilities and personality attributes
New practice reading passages
Sample firefighter qualifying exams like those given in various jurisdictions across America
Up-to-the-minute information about all elements of the firefighter qualifying process, including the physical exam and the oral interview.
Surviving the Firehouse by
Call Number: TH 9151 P67 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-19
Over the course of my twenty-five-year career as a firefighter, I noticed that many promising rookies and probationary year firefighters made mistakes that sent them into a tailspin, ending their careers. Most of the time, their mistakes weren't really their fault. I remember thinking that they would have made it if only they had had a mentor or someone to show them the ropes, show them how to avoid the pitfalls and errors that doomed their efforts. All rookies need someone to take them under their wing and guide them through the early years as a firefighter. Unfortunately, no one is, or ever was, assigned the role of mentor to new firefighters. This book solves that problem and fills in the gaps of a firefighter's training and preparation for life in the firehouse. As my own career developed, I took mental notes as well as written notes about areas where firefighters needed help adjusting to expectations, or help getting along with their peers, or standing their ground when confronted, or dealing with the various personalities in the firehouse. I sincerely believed I needed to give these people a shot at success by providing a guide on how to survive the difficult adjustment period they were experiencing. I knew that one day, I would do something about this problem, something like write a book.
This book is the culmination of my years of note taking and problem-solving. It was many years in the making and covers the multiple areas firefighters encounter, particularly early in their careers. It will help the rookie as well as the mid-career professional make decisions about promotion, areas of work, financial judgment and investments, dinner time antics, recipes and cooking, and behavior towards co-workers. This book may help guarantee their success in problematic situations. This book was not written by an academic or someone who speculates about life on the streets. It was written by a firefighter paramedic who worked the streets in some of the roughest fire houses the fire department had to offer. It offers the most practical, realistic, specific, and helpful advice and tips available for any and all firefighters. I am confident that with this book, rookies will survive their first years on the job and enjoy their firefighter careers as much as I did. Good luck to you. I'd like to hear from readers who find guidance and support from these pages.
Staff and Student Picks @ Schoolcraft
Assessment of Total Evacuation Systems for Tall Buildings by
Call Number: TH9445 .T18
Publication Date: 2014
This SpringerBrief focuses on the use of egress models to assess the optimal strategy for total evacuation in high-rise buildings. It investigates occupant relocation and evacuation strategies involving the exit stairs, elevators, sky bridges and combinations thereof. Chapters review existing information on this topic and describe case study simulations of a multi-component exit strategy. This review provides the architectural design, regulatory and research communities with a thorough understanding of the current and emerging evacuation procedures and possible future options. A model case study simulates seven possible strategies for the total evacuation of two identical twin towers linked with two sky-bridges at different heights. The authors present the layout of the building and the available egress components including both vertical and horizontal egress components, namely stairs, occupant evacuation elevators (OEEs), service elevators, transfer floors and sky-bridges. The evacuation strategies employ a continuous spatial representation evacuation model (Pathfinder) and are cross-validated by a fine network model (STEPS). Assessment of Total Evacuation Systems for Tall Buildings is intended for practitioners as a tool for analyzing evacuation methods and efficient exit strategies. Researchers working in architecture and fire safety will also find the book valuable.
Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills by
Call Number: TH 9146 .F855 2009 (Grote Cafe)
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
No other training program has had as great an impact on the fire service as the First Edition of Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills. In addition to the innovative features found within the text, fire fighter students and instructors were introduced to a wealth of superior teaching and learning tools along with cutting edge technological resources. Now, with the release of the Second Edition, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, the International Association of Fire Chiefs, and the National Fire Protection Association have joined forces to raise the bar for the fire service once again. Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills, Second Edition features a laser-like focus on fire fighter safety with a dedicated chapter on safety built on the 16 Fire Fighter Life Safety Initiatives and coverage of the Near-Miss Reporting System throughout the text; updated coverage of the 2008 Edition of NFPA 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications; and expanded skills coverage, including over 70 new skills drills.
Fighting Fire! by
Call Number: TH 9503 .C67 2014
Publication Date: 2014
From colonial times to the modern day, two things have remained constant in American history: the destructive power of fires and the bravery of those who fight them.
Fighting Fire! brings to life ten of the deadliest infernos this nation has ever endured: the great fires of Boston, New York, Chicago, Baltimore, and San Francisco, the disasters of the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory, the General Slocum, and the Cocoanut Grove nightclub, the wildfire of Witch Creek in San Diego County, and the catastrophe of 9/11. Each blaze led to new firefighting techniques and technologies, yet the struggle against fires continues to this day. With historical images and a fast-paced text, this is both an exciting look at firefighting history and a celebration of the human spirit.
Ignitability and Explosibility of Gases and Vapors by
Call Number: TH9446 .I475 M3 2015 EB
Publication Date: 2015
The book provides a systematic view on flammability and a collection of solved engineering problems in the fields of dilution and purge, mine gas safety, clean burning safety and gas suppression modeling.
For the first time, fundamental principles of energy conservation are used to develop theoretical flammability diagrams and are then explored to understand various safety-related mixing problems. This provides the basis for a fully-analytical solution to any flammability problem. Instead of the traditional view that flammability is a fundamental material property, here flammability is discovered to be a result of the explosibility of air and the ignitability of fuel, or a process property. By exploring the more fundamental concepts of explosibility and ignitability, the safety targets of dilution and purge can be better defined and utilized for guiding safe operations in process safety.
This book provides various engineering approaches to mixture flammability, benefiting not only the safety students, but also field operators, as a useful resource for the safe handling of flammable gases and liquids. It will be useful to anyone who worries about the ignition potential of a flammable mixture