LibGuides: World History: World History Resources

Exploring World History Resources

The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore World History resources.

On this page you will find:

A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
Links to pages full of useful websites related to various World History topics.
Links to a preset database search for World History eBooks.

These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.

When you are not on campus and try to use the databases, you will be prompted for a username and password. If you do not know these and are a Schoolcraft student, then give the library a call and we will provide you with the information you need.

Our phone number is: (734) 462-4440

Additional Open Access World History eBook Links to Consider

History 137 E-Text

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 E-Text

Favorite Web Resources

1,700+ Free eBooks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search and browse these eBook titles with free full-text online.
Africa's Great Civilizations
In his series, Africa's Great Civilizations, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. takes a new look at the history of Africa, from the birth of humankind to the dawn of the 20th century.
African American Studies webliography
Explore these free web resources to learn about African American history.
Ancient Asia
Ancient Asia covers the Stone Age to modern times, including archaeology, history, anthropology, art, architecture, numismatics, iconography, ethnography and also various scientific aspects including archaeobotany and archaeozoology, including theoretical and methodological issues.
Ancient History webliography
Explore these free web resources to learn about ancient history.
Ancient World Online, List of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies (AWOL)
An A to Z listing of Open Access journals in ancient studies.
Ancient World Online, Open Access Ancient Language Textbooks, OERs and Primers (AWOL)
An A to Z listing of Open Access textbooks and primers.
Digital Florentine Codex
An Encyclopedia of 16th Century Indigenous Mexico.
Digital Pasifik (Explore more than 900+ Digital Collections)
Explore the Digital Collections of more than 900+ participating institutions.
Documenting the American South
Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
Europeana Collections
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Google Arts & Culture, Historic Events
Explore a wide variety of collections by theme.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
People, Periods, Places and Events in a chronological context.
Historiana (European History Resource)
Historiana offers free historical content, ready to use learning activities, and innovative digital tools made by and for history educators across Europe.
Historical Primary Source Materials LibGuide
Explore these resources to learn about primary sources.
History Maps Project, Learn History Visually
Explore historical eras by time period visually through this collection of maps.
History OER Resources (from Iowa State)
A collection of OER U.S. and World history resources. This guide contains links to free textbooks and more.
The History of Byzantium
A podcast telling the story of the Roman Empire from 476 AD to 1453.
A History of the World in 100 Objects by Theme
This site uses objects to tell a history of the world. You’ll find 100 objects from the British Museum & hundreds more from museums & people across the UK.
History Travels
Find historical places during your travels.
History webliography
Explore these free web resources to learn about history.
Ideas that Changed the World (Google Arts & Culture)
Discover the great breakthroughs that shaped our history.
An Illustrated History of the World’s Deadliest Epidemics
Learn about pandemic outbreaks of the past from ancient Rome to COVID-19.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
JSTOR Open Community Collections
These collections feature Open Access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
View historic maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Living Museum (British Museum)
Use AI to chat with the artifacts at the British Museum.
Memory of the World Project (Google Arts & Culture)
The site features key documents from world history that have been collected to help highlight key moments in world history.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 1,059,575+ items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
Pleiades
Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license.
Smithsonian
Online resources from the world's largest museum and research complex.
Smithsonian 3D Collections
Browse more than 3,000+ 3D items from the Smithsonian's Collections.
Smithsonian Online Books by Topic
Browse this collection of online books by topic, from the Smithsonian.
Smithsonian Open Access Collection
Explore more than 4.9 million digital objects in the collection.
Story of England
Take a chronological journey through the key periods in England’s past. Explore thousands of years of history and discover how the changes that the country has seen can be traced through English Heritage’s sites.
Taube Archive of the International Military Tribunal (IMT) at Nuremberg, 1945‑46
The archive contains all manner of records produced by the IMT, including audio recordings of the proceedings, court transcripts, indictments, sentences, and evidentiary films.
Women's Studies webliography
Explore these free web resources to learn about Women's history.
World History Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia provides easy access to a wide variety of resources discussing World History.

World History Links

History Links

Ancient History Links

Genealogy Links

Women's Studies Links

Off Campus Library Database Access

Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard by clicking the “Organizations” tab. Go to https://bb.schoolcraft.edu