Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring Music Resources
The purpose of this page is to help faculty and students to explore music resources.
On this page you will find:
- A list of favorite online resources used by faculty and staff.
- Links to pages full of useful websites related to various music topics.
- Links to preset database searches for music eBooks.
These resources can also be found on our Library Resources page.
Favorite Online Resources
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 125,110 CDs with more than 1,914,900 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Khan Academy -- Music
Khan Academy is an internationally-recognized, non-profit education organization. Their music lectures include series on "Music Basics: Reading Music and Notes and Rhythm;" "Masterpieces Old and New," and "Instruments of the Orchestra."
Performing Arts Encyclopedia -- Library of Congress
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
Smithsonian: Music & Musical Instruments
The Museum's music collections contain more than 5,000 instruments of American and European heritage. The vast Sam DeVincent Collection of Illustrated Sheet Music is a remarkable window into the American past in words, music, and visual imagery. The Duke Ellington and Ruth Ellington Boatwright collections contain handwritten music compositions, sound recordings, business records, and other materials documenting the career of this renowned musician.
Biographical information on composers and lists of their works.
Off Campus Library Database Access
Schoolcraft students, faculty, and staff can access library databases from off-campus through Blackboard by clicking the “Organizations” tab. Go to https://bb.schoolcraft.edu