"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
"Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles."
"JSTOR currently offers more than 12 million academic journal articles, 100,000 books, and millions of images and primary source materials in 75 disciplines."
Tips for database searching
Use AND in the search box to narrow your search. This is a good way to sift through many search results as it will look for multiple terms required for each result. Example search: Graphic design AND artificial intelligence
Use OR in the search box to broaden your search. This will produce more search results as it is looking for various terms deemed acceptable. Example search: graphic design OR communication design OR visual design
Use NOT in the search box to prevent a particular result. The following example helped find eBooks on topic, but eliminated results meant for younger readers. Example search: Graphic design AND video games NOT juvenile
Use an asterisk (*) as a wild card for letters in a search term. The following search result will cover video game, video games, video gaming, and video gamers. Example search: video gam*
Use quotation marks around search terms to produce results with those terms together, not separated. The following example found results with the two terms together. Without the quotation marks, some search results may only include the first term, some may only include the second term, and some may result with both terms being used. Example search: "Computer graphics"
Pay special attention to the subject terms for a particularly good eBook or journal article yielded from a search. These subject terms can help find other promising search results.
Databases (w/ Preset Searches for Gaming and Gamification-Related Materials)
"The Digital Gaming Communities Web Archive preserves content, across varying web formats, generated by and related to digital games, in order to foster research within the discipline. Themes collected include critical gaming, game ethics, accessibility in gaming and game design, and user reviews and playthroughs."
A leading video gaming destination offering video game enthusiasts high-quality, innovative and exclusive content with a considered approach to its audience.
Godot Engine is free and open source software that provides a comprehensive set of common tools, so users can focus on making games without having to reinvent the wheel.
Written by a gathering of Britain’s top games critics, RPS aims to cover everything from the latest breaking stories about the biggest releases to esoterica from the format’s most obscure peninsulas.
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
