Your physical and mental health are important. But taking care of yourself can be expensive and understanding health insurance terminology can be overwhelming. The links on this page point to resources that can help you understand health insurance, find less expensive care, and find reputable online health information for those times when you just can't get in to see a doctor right away or you have a question you're too embarrassed to ask.
Government Health Care Plans
Health insurance helps you to pay for expenses like visits to your primary care physician or the emergency room. Most healthcare plans now offer some mental health benefits and some health insurance plans also cover dental and vision care. Health care plans may be available through your employer, although this benefit may not be available to part-time employees. If your employer doesn't offer health care or you aren't happy with the plans they offer, you can check the open healthcare market and purchase a plan there:
Medicaid
Medicaid is a healthcare coverage option for low-income individuals. If you don't earn a lot of money, you may qualify for medicaid. Michigan offers several programs under medicaid. Follow the link below to see if you qualify for any of them:
Medicaid programs for Michigan residents
Life Changes and Health Insurance
Your health insurance needs may change over time. For example, you may get married or divorced or become a parent. Do you know how to make sure your spouse or child will be covered? Do you know what your options are if you are facing loss of coverage due to divorce? For information on how to navigate these changes from a health insurance standpoint, see this helpful government publication, which lays out (in plain English) what you need to do in each situation:
Maybe you have a health-related question you really want answered, but you don't want to ask your doctor and Googling your symptoms has you freaked out! Here are a few credible web sites offering answers to questions you were too afraid or embarrassed to ask.
Evaluating health related web resources LibGuide
Go Ask Alice!
Go Ask Alice! is a public service of Columbia University. This award-winning web site includes lots of helpful health information and anyone can submit a health-related question for the Go Ask Alice! team. You can also browse user-submitted questions and answers on a range of topics, including alcohol, emotional and general health, nutrition, relationships, and sexual health. The Go Ask Alice! site provides accurate health information from a team of professionals. See their web site:
Web MD
Web MD is a clearinghouse of health information. There are articles on nearly any health condition you can imagine. The site includes a symptom checker as well as a physician directory in case you need to find a doctor.
Mental Health America
Mental Health America's website includes information on many mental health conditions. The site also includes information about staying mentally healthy, resources for those experiencing mental health issues and for their family members, and a mental health screening tool.
Need to see a doctor? Therapist? These resources will point you to care near you. Some clinics offer low-cost or sliding scale services (meaning you will pay based on what you can afford).
Schoolcraft Urgent Care
Schoolcraft campus is home to an urgent care, offering same and next-day day appointments for things that just can't wait. You can make an appointment online and be seen any day of week. They're even open on holidays!
Schoolcraft Family and Internal Medicine
Schoolcraft campus also has a family and internal medicine clinic for more general care. This clinic, too, offers same and next-day appointments.
Schoolcraft family and internal medicine
Michigan School of Professional Psychology
The Michigan School of Professional Psychology offers sliding-scale telehealth mental health services. Therapy sessions range in price from $5 to $35, depending on what you can afford to pay. For learn more or make an appointment, see their web site:
Michigan School of Professional psychology counseling page
Planned Parenthood
Planned Parenthood provides reproductive and sexual health care on a sliding scale for all people, no matter their gender. (Yes, men can go to Planned Parenthood, too!) See your local Planned Parenthood page for more information or to book an appointment online: